Waka Ama

This year we were fortunate enough to have five Waka ama teams compete at secondary Nationals. We had four J16 teams; 2 boys and 2 girls  teams and one J19 girls team, we couldn’t have made if it weren’t for endless support from family and friends but especially our outstanding coaches Mapera Naera, Joshua Steward and Michael Rogerson. Leading up to Nationals, the majority of the teams had trainings 4 times a week if not everyday, some even began training late last year, which paid off in the end. We also completed our 20km paddle to Pukete boat ramp as a way of fundraising to help pay our fees...

 Come Nationals everyone was nervous but excited to compete and experience what it was like to race on a national level. We had a hectic, eventful week with plenty of laughter. It was a good experience for all our new J16 teams as they had never been before, one of our J16 girls team was even ranked 5th best in the whole nation which is pretty impressive for a team that had never paddled Nationals before. Most of all, we felt that this week brought us all closer together, and bond with each other more. We would also like to give a big thank you to Whaea Aroha and Whaea Roch for helping out and supporting us during this week and last but not least to all our whānau and friends who backed us up all the way.


J19 Girls

Te Kirika Moanaroa-Manukau

Ocyn-Li Tairakena-Moana

Charlie Ryan

Ronniek Paikea

Anayda Jones-Brown

Kahurangi Whare

Kasey Cotter


(Yr 10) J16 Girls

Te Au-mihi Moanaroa

Dallas Langi-Wikaere

Myah Gallichan

April Osbourne

Reese Daniel-Hoani

Jodie Ranui


(Yr 10) J16 Boys

Quentin Johnstone

Bosston Ngataki

Kreate Diamond Penetito

Jordan-Calais Watene

Hunter Higgins

Keen-Reggae Sunnex


(Yr 9) J16 Girls

Carly Matthews-George

Kitaana Kenny

Ramania Matika

Nevaeh Perese

Hadar Puloutele

Billy-Jean Emery

Reah Smith-Muru


(Yr 9) J16 Boys

Epapara Rawiri-Lloyd

Valiant Clarke

Kaea Devonshire

Zyrus Marriot

Joshua Bevan

Riki Tarawhiti

Image Gallery: